IPL Schedule 2024 – Venues, Teams, Players and Key Dates

IPL Schedule 2024: The much-awaited IPL 2024 season is just around the corner, and cricket enthusiasts are eagerly counting down the days. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the schedule for the first two weeks of the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, which is set to commence from March 22, 2024, and run until April 7, 2024. In this comprehensive guide, we will take a closer look at the IPL schedule, the venues hosting the matches, the teams participating, and the key dates to mark on your calendar.

IPL Schedule 2024

IPL Schedule 2024

The IPL 2024 season promises to be an action-packed extravaganza, featuring a total of 74 matches spread across six weeks. The tournament will kick off with a clash between the defending champions, Chennai Super Kings, and the Royal Challengers Bangalore in Chennai on March 22, 2024. The first two weeks of the IPL will witness a flurry of matches, with each team playing a minimum of three matches and a maximum of five.

Here is a glimpse of the schedule for the first two weeks of the TATA IPL 2024:

Match No.FixtureDateVenueTime
1.CSK vs RCBMarch 22Chennai7:30 PM IST
2.PBKS vs DCMarch 23Mohali3:30 PM IST
3.KKR vs SRHMarch 23Kolkata7:30 PM IST
4.RR vs LSGMarch 24Jaipur3:30 PM IST
5.GT vs MIMarch 24Ahmedabad7:30 PM IST
6.RCB vs PBKSMarch 25Bengaluru7:30 PM IST
7.CSK vs GTMarch 26Chennai7:30 PM IST
8.SRH vs MIMarch 27Hyderabad7:30 PM IST
9.RR vs DCMarch 28Jaipur7:30 PM IST
10.RCB vs KKRMarch 29Bengaluru7:30 PM IST
11.LSG vs PBKSMarch 30Lucknow7:30 PM IST
12.GT vs SRHMarch 31Ahmedabad3:30 PM IST
13.DC vs CSKMarch 31Visakhapatnam7:30 PM IST
14.MI vs RRApril 1Mumbai7:30 PM IST
15.RCB vs LSGApril 2Bengaluru7:30 PM IST
16.DC vs KKRApril 3Visakhapatnam7:30 PM IST
17.GT vs PBKSApril 4Ahmedabad7:30 PM IST
18.SRH vs CSKApril 5Hyderabad7:30 PM IST
19.RR vs RCBApril 6Jaipur7:30 PM IST
20.MI vs DCApril 7Mumbai3:30 PM IST
21.LSG vs GTApril 7Lucknow7:30 PM IST

Please note that the schedule for the remaining matches will be finalized after considering the dates of the 18th Lok Sabha elections to ensure the smooth conduct of both the IPL and the electoral process.

Venues for the IPL 2024 Matches

The IPL matches will be held in some of the most iconic cricket stadiums across India. Let’s take a closer look at the venues that will host the thrilling encounters:

1. Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

The Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai is one of the most popular cricket venues in the world. With a capacity of over 30,000 spectators, this iconic stadium has witnessed numerous historic moments in Indian cricket.

2. M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Home to the Royal Challengers Bangalore, the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru is known for its electrifying atmosphere. With a capacity of over 40,000, this stadium is a favorite among fans.

3. Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, Delhi

The Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in Delhi has been a hub of cricketing action for decades. With a seating capacity of over 40,000, this historic venue has witnessed many memorable matches.

4. Eden Gardens Stadium, Kolkata

The iconic Eden Gardens Stadium in Kolkata is known for its passionate crowd. With a seating capacity of over 90,000, it is the largest cricket stadium in India and the home ground of the Kolkata Knight Riders.

5. Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

The newly constructed Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad is the largest cricket stadium in the world, with a staggering capacity of over 132,000. This state-of-the-art venue is expected to provide a truly grand setting for the IPL matches.

6. MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

Also known as Chepauk, the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai is the home ground of the Chennai Super Kings. With a seating capacity of over 50,000, this stadium has witnessed many memorable matches.

7. BRS ABV Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow

The BRS ABV Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow is a new addition to the IPL. Completed in 2023, this stadium has a capacity of over 50,000 and is expected to provide a fantastic cricketing experience.

IPL 2024 Teams

The IPL 2024 season will feature ten teams competing for the coveted trophy. Each team boasts a unique combination of strengths and star players. Let’s take a closer look at the teams participating in IPL 2024:

1. Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Captain: MS Dhoni Key Players: Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Dwayne Bravo Strengths: Experienced squad, strong leadership, passionate fanbase

2. Delhi Capitals (DC)

Captain: Rishabh Pant Key Players: Axar Patel, David Warner, Prithvi Shaw Strengths: Balanced team, aggressive batting, potent spin bowling

3. Gujarat Titans (GT)

Captain: Hardik Pandya Key Players: Rashid Khan, Shubman Gill, Mohammed Shami Strengths: All-rounders galore, strong batting lineup, pace attack depth

4. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

Captain: Shreyas Iyer Key Players: Andre Russell, Pat Cummins, Venkatesh Iyer Strengths: Explosive batting, spin bowling expertise, passionate home support

5. Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)

Captain: KL Rahul Key Players: Marcus Stoinis, Ravi Bishnoi, Quinton de Kock Strengths: Power-packed batting, potent pace attack, good mix of experience and youth

6. Mumbai Indians (MI)

Captain: Rohit Sharma Key Players: Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan Strengths: Balanced squad, experience, successful track record

7. Punjab Kings (PBKS)

Captain: Mayank Agarwal Key Players: Liam Livingstone, Kagiso Rabada, Shikhar Dhawan Strengths: Big-hitting batsmen, strong pace attack, aggressive approach

8. Rajasthan Royals (RR)

Captain: Sanju Samson Key Players: Jos Buttler, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jofra Archer Strengths: Spin bowling attack, explosive batting, young and energetic squad

9. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

Captain: Kane Williamson Key Players: Umran Malik, Glenn Maxwell, Nicholas Pooran Strengths: Pace attack depth, experience, good mix of youth and veterans

10. Dharamsala Gladiators (DG)

Captain: TBA Key Players: TBA Strengths: New team, fresh talent, home advantage in picturesque Dharamsala

IPL 2024 Key Dates

The IPL 2024 season is filled with exciting matches and key moments that no cricket fan would want to miss. Here are the important dates to mark on your calendar:

Opening Match

Date: March 23, 2024 Venue: DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai Clash: Gujarat Titans vs. Chennai Super Kings

League Stage

Dates: March 23rd – May 29th, 2024 Matches: A total of 74 matches will be played, maintaining the format from the previous year. Expect: Regional rivalries, epic comebacks, last-over drama Finale: May 29th – Witness the crowning of the new IPL champions!

Please note that the detailed schedule, including match dates, venues, and timings, is yet to be officially announced by the BCCI and the IPL governing council. Stay tuned for updates!


The IPL 2024 season promises to be a thrilling and action-packed extravaganza for cricket enthusiasts worldwide. With a total of 74 matches spread across six weeks, featuring ten teams competing for the coveted trophy, fans can expect a showcase of talent, passion, and nail-biting moments. Make sure to mark the key dates on your calendar and get ready to witness some exhilarating cricketing action. Let the games begin!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top